Writers Need Editors

There’s absolutely no question about it: writers need editors.

I love writing poetry, fiction, and screenplays. It’s a lot of fun. It’s what I love to do. It’s why I do what I do.

I hate editing. Well, let me be more specific, I hate editing my own writing. I hate editing my own writing because it’s very difficult to view my own writing objectively. Sure, I can do a copy edit, but invariably, it will need quite a bit more to make it, well, good enough to publish.

Most writers, myself included, after completing their first draft have the delusion that they’ve created a masterpiece. They couldn’t be further off.

I’ve been lucky to work with two close friends who have helped me edit my poetry and fiction. Without them, I wouldn’t have published any of my poetry or fiction, and I wouldn’t have had a script solid enough worth registering with the WGA East.

I know it is disheartening to see an editor skewer your writing, but it’s the only way that you can actually grow as a writer. If you are serious about growing as a writer, you need to swallow your pride, and work with a skilled editor who will tell you what you need to hear, not what you want to hear (because no draft will be perfect, or even close, and mere copy-edits aren’t enough to get your writing published.)

I’ve worked hard to grow from an aspiring writer to an emerging writer. I received A LOT of rejections along the way. It was humiliating. It felt like I was in front of a firing squad. I had to swallow my pride, realize I wasn’t able to do it on my own, and work with some great editors. I started making HUGE strides. I started getting to know many writers doing similar things and forming close professional relationships with them, I started having people legitimately compliment my work, and, of course, I started seeing my name in reputable, competitive, literary journals.

I couldn’t do it on my own, and neither can you, or any writer for that matter. I’ve been through the wringer, and come out on the other side, and I know for a fact that without a top editor for your fiction, poetry, screenplays, or any form of creative writing, your work is going NOWHERE. As a result of my experiences, I want to help you grow as a writer, and help you edit your writing, so that you can advance in your literary career. I may be myopic when it comes to my own writing (as all writers are), but I can guarantee you that if you choose to hire me as an editor, you’ll learn firsthand what a top editor can do for your fiction.

To sum it up: I couldn’t do it on my own as a writer. I needed to work with some of the best fiction editors around to get things going. Any writer can do the same with a dedicated, critical editor.

Leave a Reply

